NREM Faculty

Faculty who can advise students do not include Emeritus faculty, Junior researchers, and Agents. Cooperating and Affiliate faculty can only advise students as a co-advisor along with an NREM graduate faculty member. 


FACULTY INFORMATION
Carlson, Kimberly

Assistant Professor  


Email:  kimberly.carlson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2617
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Chan, Catherine

Professor  


Email:  chanhalb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Cox, Linda J

Community Economic Development Specialist  


Email:  lcox@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7602
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Crow, Susan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  crows@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8149
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

El-Swaify, Samir A

Emeritus Professor  


Email:  elswaify@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Evensen, Carl I

Specialist  


Email:  evensen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8825
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Friday, James B

Extension Forester  


Email:  jbfriday@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8254
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Garrod, Peter

Researcher  


Email:  garrod@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8128
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Gopalakrishnan, Chennat

Emeritus  


Email:  chennat@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7497
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Idol, Travis

Professor & Chair  


Email:  idol@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7508
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kaneshiro-Pineiro, Mahealani

Acad Supp  


Email:  mykanesh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Leung, PingSun

Professor  


Email:  psleung@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8562
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Litton, Creighton

Professor  


Email:  litton@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6004
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Miura, Tomoaki

Professor  


Email:  tomoakim@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7333
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nagano, Steven Y

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  snagano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  453-6054
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Oleson, Kirsten

Associate Professor  


Email:  koleson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8864
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Price, Melissa

Assistant Professor  


Email:  pricemel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7774
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rehkamp, Sarah

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srehkamp@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8221
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sand, Shannon

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srsand@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8217
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Trauernicht, Parker Clayton (Clay)

Assistant Specialist  


Email:  trauerni@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6875
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tsang, YinPhan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  tsangy@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6361
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Vaughan, Mehana

Assistant Professor  


Email:  mehana@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8901
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Youkhana, Adel

Junior Researcher  


Email:  adel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2620
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Class standing in field


Local Ag and the Environment 26 November 2019

Local Ag and the Environment

Master’s defense will discuss the environmental cost of increasing ag

You’ve probably heard about the importance of eating more locally grown foods. What are some ecological implications? Natural Resources and Environmental Management MS student Tanya Torres will discuss her findings during her defense of her thesis, “Quantifying the Environmental Footprint of Doubling Hawai‘i’s Local Food Supply.”

Birds in the Garden 13 November 2019

Birds in the Garden

Multimedia symphony is coming to Kaua‘i

The Symphony of the Hawaiian Birds will be performed on Kaua‘i for the first time in February 2020, and help is needed to recruit teachers on the island to bring their students. All classes in grades 4–12, as well as home-schooled students, are welcome. It's a place-based interdisciplinary program that brings together science, music, art, dance, and education to tell the story of our endangered Hawaiian forest birds.

Maui Burning 5 November 2019

Maui Burning

NREM researcher warns that recent wildfires require proactive response

Clay Trauernicht (NREM) wrote a chilling article on a hot topic in Civil Beat. The wildland fire researcher and Extension faculty member discussed Central Maui fires that burned nearly 20,000 acres this summer (see image of burned area from the Sentinel-2 satellite). This “unprecedented” area reflects “dramatic increases in wildfires across the state,” he warns.

For the Birds 28 October 2019

For the Birds

Enjoy a night at the Honolulu Symphony while learning about endangered native birds

Join in the avian excitement as the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra performs the Symphony of the Hawaiian Birds, an original set of works produced by Hawai‘i’s composers, artists, biologists, and educators! Melissa Price of CTAHR’s Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management is a creator of the concert project, bringing to it her perspective on conservation and wildlife management. It’s all happening November 5 at the Blaisdell Concert Hall!

Squirm 28 October 2019

Squirm

TPSS and NREM show how studying earthworms can affect conservation

Noa Lincoln, of CTAHR’s Department of Tropical Plants and Soil Sciences, and Nathanial Wehr, of our Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management, are co-authors of a new article published in the prestigious journal Science about the importance of earthworms in biosystems—and the necessity for studying these wriggly creatures so we can keep those biosystems healthy.

RSS
123456789