NREM Faculty

Faculty who can advise students do not include Emeritus faculty, Junior researchers, and Agents. Cooperating and Affiliate faculty can only advise students as a co-advisor along with an NREM graduate faculty member. 


FACULTY INFORMATION
Chan, Catherine

Professor  


Email:  chanhalb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Crow, Susan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  crows@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8149
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

El-Swaify, Samir A

Emeritus Professor  


Email:  elswaify@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Evensen, Carl I

Specialist  


Email:  evensen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8825
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Friday, James B

Extension Forester  


Email:  jbfriday@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8254
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Garrod, Peter

Researcher  


Email:  garrod@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Gopalakrishnan, Chennat

Emeritus  


Email:  chennat@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Idol, Travis

Professor & Chair  


Email:  idol@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7508
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kaneshiro-Pineiro, Mahealani

Acad Supp  


Email:  mykanesh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Leung, PingSun

Professor  


Email:  psleung@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Litton, Creighton

Professor  


Email:  litton@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6004
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Miura, Tomoaki

Professor  


Email:  tomoakim@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7333
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nagano, Steven Y

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  snagano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  453-6054
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Oleson, Kirsten

Associate Professor  


Email:  koleson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8864
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Price, Melissa

Assistant Professor  


Email:  pricemel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7774
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rehkamp, Sarah

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srehkamp@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8221
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sand, Shannon

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srsand@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8217
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Trauernicht, Parker Clayton (Clay)

Assistant Specialist  


Email:  trauerni@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6875
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tsang, YinPhan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  tsangy@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6361
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Vaughan, Mehana

Assistant Professor  


Email:  mehana@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8901
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Youkhana, Adel

Junior Researcher  


Email:  adel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2620
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Class standing in field


The Opportunity Is Now 3 April 2020

The Opportunity Is Now

Promote agriculture with the International Year of Plant Health

As the world copes with the pandemic, it becomes more and more important for all of us to promote plant health, especially in Hawaiʻi and other geographically isolated Pacific Islands that currently import more than 80% of our food. Hawai'i is also home to almost 1,400 native plant species, 90% of which grow only here.

Shoot the Weeds 30 March 2020

Shoot the Weeds

Tune in for grad student David Lewis’s seminar on aerial Herbicide Ballistic Technology

Zoom in this Wednesday, April 1, at 3:30 p.m., to find out about efforts to eradicate the invasive weed tree miconia with Herbicide Ballistic Technology. In this latest installment in the Natural Resources & Environmental Management seminar series, NREM grad student David Lewis will discuss “Risk & Resources for Mitigating an Incipient Miconia calvescens Invasion.”

Guides to the Garden 27 February 2020

Guides to the Garden

A new audio track helps Kauaʻi tourists be respectful of Hawaiian culture and lands

Mehana Vaughan (NREM) has collaborated with two other scholars to research, create, and implement a new audio track to be played on the tourist shuttles that travel to remote parts of Kaua‘i. The recording informs riders about the sacred areas of Kaua‘i and the roles they have played throughout Kaua‘i's history, as well as how to have a respectful and safe visit.

They Love ‘Ōhi‘a Love 27 February 2020

They Love ‘Ōhi‘a Love

Tourism award recognizes NREM efforts to combat Rapid ‘Ōhi‘a Death.

The Hawai‘i Tourism Authority presented educational specialist Corie Yanger (NREM), William Stormont (DLNR/DOFAW), and William Buckley (Big Island Invasive Species Committee) with the 2019 Tourism Legacy Award, Ho‘ohanohano Ho‘oilina Ho‘okipa, for their hard work and accomplishments in protecting Hawaii’s ‘ōhi‘a forests from Rapid ‘Ōhi‘a Death.

Farm to School and Beyond 27 February 2020

Farm to School and Beyond

CTAHR alumna joins Wai‘anae Farm to School program

Welcome back to Kristen Jamieson, the new Wai‘anae Farm to School coordinator! While her position is housed in HNFAS, Kristen is a CTAHR alumna with a B.S. in NREM and a minor in TPSS. But her previous experience working at UH as the student sustainability coordinator and at Kahumana Organic Farms makes her the perfect person to educate keiki about healthy local foods.

RSS
12345678910Last