DEPARTMENT OF 

Natural Resources and Environmental Management

NREM Faculty/Staff Search


Sort by: label>
FACULTY/STAFF INFORMATION
Alvarado, Samantha

Acad Supp
  

Email:  ska8@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Arakawa, Allison

Office Assistant III
  

Email:  aearakaw@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7530
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Carlson, Kimberly

Assistant Professor
  

Email:  kimberly.carlson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2617
Interests:  
Agriculture is expanding mainly in the tropics. However, interactions between tropical land use and ecosystem function, as well as their socio-economic outcomes, are often poorly characterized. I leverage diverse methods including innovative analysis of remote sensing products, land change modeling, and field data collected using natural and social science methods to provide spatially-explicit datasets that can be used to examine these important research objectives. My work is solutions-oriented and informs environmental policies and practices at local to global scales.
Specialization:  

more...

Casco, Hiilei

Acad Supp
  

Email:  hiileic@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Chan, Catherine

Professor
  

Email:  chanhalb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2626
Interests:  

International Agricultural Development, Resources Valuation, Agricultural Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Supply Chain Analysis.


Specialization:  

more...

Chikasuye, Kate

Acad Supp
  

Email:  katey@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Cox, Linda J

Community Economic Development Specialist
  

Email:  lcox@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7602
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Crow, Susan

Assistant Professor
  

Email:  crows@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8149
Interests:  

In the Soil Ecology and Biogeochemistry Lab, we study carbon dynamics and sequestration, greenhouse gas flux, nutrient and water management in natural and managed (forested or agriculture) ecosystems and how these relate to global change pressures - such as land-use, climate change, and invasive species - sustainable agriculture, and renewable energy production. We pursue mechanistic understanding of ecosystem processes to tackle tough questions relevant to current environmental issues. At the systems-level, we quantify and model the carbon tradeoffs of renewable fuel systems and integrate across disciplines of economics, engineering, and agroecology to build resilience into our society against uncertainty in the climate system, energy, and water accessibility. Through the Soils&EcoSystems Service Lab, we provide collaborators and researchers with plant, soil, and water analyses.


Specialization:  

more...

Ekaputri, Andini

Acad Supp
  

Email:  andini@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Elduque I Boix, Adrian

Acad Supp
  

Email:  elduque@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2040
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

El-Swaify, Samir A

Emeritus Professor
  

Email:  elswaify@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Evensen, Carl I

Specialist
  

Email:  evensen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8825
Interests:  
Provide statewide leadership for extension programs in natural resource management and environmental quality. Specific responsibilities include development and implementation of programs for public education and cooperative extension staff development on natural resources, pollution control, water quality, and watershed management.
Specialization:  

more...

Farrant, Nicholas

Acad Supp
  

Email:  nfarrant@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Ford, Derek

Acad Supp
  

Email:  djford@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Friday, James B

Extension Forester
  

Email:  jbfriday@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8254
Interests:  
Forest health
Forestry and conservation nurseries 
Silviculture and management of koa forests
Small-scale plantation forestry
Conservation of native Hawaiian forests
Nutrition of plantation forests
Agroforestry
International development

Specialization:  

more...

Garrod, Peter

Researcher
  

Email:  garrod@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8128
Interests:  
Ag Statistics, Marketing, Ag Policy, Multi-function agricurlture
Specialization:  

more...

Gonzalez, Aurelia

Acad Supp
  

Email:  aureliag@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Gopalakrishnan, Chennat

Emeritus
  

Email:  chennat@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7497
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Harmon, Kristen

Acad Supp
  

Email:  kmcorey@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Hauler, Sarah

Acad Supp
  

Email:  shauler@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Heaivilin, Hunter

Acad Supp
  

Email:  huntersh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Huang, Yu-Fen

Acad Supp
  

Email:  yfhuang@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Hubanks, Hannah

Acad Supp
  

Email:  hhubanks@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Idol, Travis

Associate Professor & Chair
  

Email:  idol@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7508
Interests:  
Forest nutrition
Ecosystem nutrient cycling
Fine root dynamics
Silviculture & reforestation
Agroforestry design & analysis
Conservation agriculture

Specialization:  

more...

Kam, Lisa M

Secretary
  

Email:  lisakam@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2150
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Kaneshiro-Pineiro, Mahealani

Acad Supp
  

Email:  mykanesh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Kitamura, Philip

Acad Supp
  

Email:  philipki@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Kreuger, Nicholas

Acad Supp
  

Email:  nkrueger@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Lam, Kristy

Acad Supp
  

Email:  klam3@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Leung, PingSun

Professor
  

Email:  psleung@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8562
Interests:  
Applied Economics and Operations Research
Aquaculture and fisheries economics and management; Agricultural and resource economics; Regional economics

Specialization:  

more...

Lewis, David

Acad Supp
  

Email:  ddlewis@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Litton, Creighton

Professor
  

Email:  litton@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6004
Interests:  
  • Impacts of invasive species, land use change, and climate change on forest ecosystem structure and function
  • Disturbance ecology of tropical forests
  • Restoration of terrestrial ecosystem structure and function
  • Carbon input, allocation and storage in terrestrial ecosystems
  • Outdoor, immersive youth environmental education

Specialization:  

more...

Loke, Matthew

Visiting Colleague
  

Email:  loke@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7312
Interests:  
  • Agricultural markets and marketing
  • Local food and regional food systems
  • Food supply chain
  • Regional economics
 
Specialization:  

more...

Luat-Hueu, Kupaa

Acad Supp
  

Email:  kupaalh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Luther, Laura

Acad Supp
  

Email:  lrluther@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

McGrath, Casey

Acad Supp
  

Email:  mcgrathc@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Miura, Tomoaki

Professor
  

Email:  tomoakim@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7333
Interests:  
My research interests include the development, validation, and applications of satellite vegetation index products and the societal impacts on land use changes in the Asia-Pacific region.
Specialization:  

more...

Nagano, Steven Y

Co Extn Agent
  

Email:  snagano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  453-6054
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Nakachi, Alohi

Acad Supp
  

Email:  nakachia@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Oleson, Kirsten

Associate Professor
  

Email:  koleson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8864
Interests:  
My lab seeks does interdisciplinary science to support natural resource and environmental management decision-making. We work closely with partners to identify research needs, design and conduct research, and apply what we learn to decision-making.
Specialization:  

more...

Price, Melissa

Assistant Professor
  

Email:  pricemel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7774
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Rehkamp, Sarah

Asst Extn Agent
  

Email:  srehkamp@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8221
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Risch, Derek

Acad Supp
  

Email:  drisch@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Rivero-Castro, Rodrigo

Acad Supp
  

Email:  riveroca@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Sand, Shannon

Asst Extn Agent
  

Email:  srsand@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8217
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Smith, Charlotte

Acad Supp
  

Email:  czs@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Smith, Emma

Grad Asst
  

Email:  esmith@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Suan, Aviv

Acad Supp
  

Email:  aviv@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Tallamy Glazer, Christine

Project Manager
  

Email:  ctg@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Torres, Tanya

Acad Supp
  

Email:  tanyakmt@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Trauernicht, Parker Clayton (Clay)

Assistant Specialist
  

Email:  trauerni@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6875
Interests:  
Fire, plant ecology, land cover change, fire management, statistics, Rstats, geospatial analysis, climate impact modeling, climate adaptation, local ecological knowledge
Specialization:  

more...

Tsang, YinPhan

Assistant Professor
  

Email:  tsangy@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6361
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Vaughan, Mehana

Assistant Professor
  

Email:  mehana@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8901
Interests:  
I study interactions between people and the environment, particularly how people use, care for and make decisions about natural resources at the local level.  I work with a consortium of scholars across the university who focus on inter-disciplinary solutions to natural and cultural resource management, food security and sustainability. Our efforts aim to enhance capacity of local communities to care for the resources that sustain them. 


Specialization:  

more...

Vizka, Elaine

Acad Supp
  

Email:  evizka@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Weiss, Bradley

Acad Supp
  

Email:  weissbl@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Whilhite, Chad

Acad Supp
  

Email:  cwhilhite@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Widanage, Rupananda

Acad Supp
  

Email:  widanage@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Yanger, Corie

Acad Supp
  

Email:  cmyanger@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8268
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Youkhana, Adel

Junior Researcher
  

Email:  adel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2620
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

Zhu, Timothy

Grad Asst
  

Email:  timothyz@hawaii.edu
Phone:  
Interests:  

Specialization:  

more...

   

Image of Leaf