CTAHR’s Annual Awards Banquet

CTAHR’s Annual Awards Banquet


gold CTAHR banqeut mark

Reserve Your Seats

30th Annual Awards Banquet

Friday, May 4, 2018
Ala Moana Hotel, Honolulu


2017 Ernest J. Harris

2017 Ernest J. Harris

Entomologist and fruit fly eradicator

2016 William J. Aila Jr.

2016 William J. Aila Jr.

Cultural leader and dedicated public servant

2015 Diane Ragone

2015 Diane Ragone

Ethnobotanist and breadfruit proponent

2014 Thomas Lumpkin

2014 Thomas Lumpkin

International agronomist and maize expert

Previous Recipients

2017  Ernest J. Harris
2016  William J. Aila Jr.
2015  Diane Ragone
2014  Thomas Lumpkin
2013  Wayne Iwaoka
2012  Paul Singleton
2011  PingSun Leung
2010  Sylvia Yuen
2009  P. Suresh Chandra Rao
2008  Melvin Yokoyama
2007  Nan-Yao Su
2006  Po-Yung Lai
2005  Kenneth Otagaki
2004  Robert Birch
2003 Kenneth Cassman
2002  Derek Kurisu
2001  Ralph Iwamoto
2000  H. Dale Sato
1999  Goro Uehara
1998  Surajit DeDatta
1997  Soon Kwon Kim
1996  Beatrice Krauss
1995  Haruyuki Kamemoto
1994  Ernest Akamine
1993  Dennis Teranishi
1992  Mary Ann Anderson
1991  Dennis Gonsalves
1990  Harry Kaya
1989  Donald Plucknett


CTAHR Outstanding Alumnus mark

About the Award

CTAHR’s highest tribute to alumni whose professional accomplishments and civic activities have generated significant local, national, and/or international impact.

2018 Awardee Gerald Santo

The retired Washington State University researcher will be honored May 4 for identifying and developing control methods for destructive nematodes, resulting in major gains for the Pacific Northwest agriculture industry.


Required documents: A letter of recommendation (up to 2 pages), at least 2 letters of support, and the nominee’s CV or resume.

Deadline: December 15 for the following year’s award.

Submission: Send to or
3050 Maile Way, Gil. 124
Honolulu, HI 96822

Inquiries: 808-956-2405