CTAHR’s Annual Awards Banquet


Student Research Symposium


Experience the competition…



Save the dates:

April 6–7, 2018 – SRS

April 21, 2018 – 3MEP

May 4, 2018 – Awards Banquet


Calling all SRS alumni:

As we prepare to celebrate the 30th Student Research Symposium in 2018, we want to hear from past participants.

Tell us about your SRS experience and what you are doing now. Email


gold CTAHR Banquet mark



Daniel Laspisa explaining poster

For three decades, the Student Research Symposium (SRS) has given young scientists from CTAHR and, more recently, the College of Engineering the opportunity to present their scholarly work before judges. The Symposium provides an atmosphere similar to what students would experience at a professional conference. CTAHR winners are eligible for travel grants to present their work out of state.

In 2017 CTAHR added a Three-Minute Elevator Pitch (3MEP) competition. Winners from both events are recognized at CTAHR’s Annual Awards Banquet.

Learn more about SRS  |  View 2017 photos  |  Download the banquet program

2017 Student Research Symposium Winners

5 students standing in front of posters

Additional SRS Awards
Gamma Sigma Delta Awards

Aimee Uyehara, TPSS, MS Student Oral
Chloe Liu, MBBE, MS Student Poster
Alanna Tseng, MBBE, PhD Student Oral
Rui-Yang Zhang, MBBE, PhD Student Poster
Derek Risch, NREM, Undergraduate Oral
Erik Ekman, NREM, Undergraduate Poster 

CTAHR Awards of Merit
Anthony Mau, MBBE, MS Student Oral
Daniel Richardson, NREM, MS Student Poster
Amit Kumar Singh, HNFAS, PhD Student Oral
Solange Saxby, HNFAS, PhD Student Poster
Brandon Ngao, MBBE, Undergraduate Oral
Annika Little, NREM, Undergraduate Poster

Family and Consumer Sciences Department Awards 
Kaimi Kajiyama, Best Undergraduate Oral
Yuyu Liu, Best Undergraduate Poster

Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences Department Awards
Sudhir Yadav, Best MS Student Oral
Biyu Wu, Best MS Student Poster
Chloe Panizza, Best PhD Student Oral
Utsav Tiwari, Best PhD Student Poster
Lucia Amore, Best Undergraduate Oral
Darcie Inouye, Best Undergraduate Poster

Molecular Biosciences and Bioengineering Department Awards
Maia Corpuz, Best MS Student Oral
Charmaine Milla, Best MS Student Poster
Francis Sakai-Kawada, Best PhD Student Oral
Taiyoung Kang, Best PhD Student Poster
Brent Wakuzawa, Best Undergraduate Oral
Liping Wang, Best Undergraduate Poster 

Natural Resources and Environmental Management Department Awards
Wailea Collins, Best MS Student Oral
Kristin Harmon, Best MS Student Poster
Jon Wells, Best PhD Student Oral
Patrica LaPorte, Best PhD Student Poster
Kenneth Choi, Best Undergraduate Poster 

Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences Department Awards
Cassandra S. Ogura-Yamada, Best MS Student Oral
Adriana Larrea Sarmiento, Best MS Student Poster
Phillip Waisen, Best PhD Student Oral
Islam Hamim, Best PhD Student Poster
Jeremiah Hasley, Best Undergraduate Poster 

Tropical Plant and Soil Sciences Department Awards
Tiare Silvasy, Best MS Student Oral
Mitchell Loo, Best MS Student Poster
Peter Toves, Best PhD Student Poster
Judy Cacal, Best Undergraduate Poster