Faculty | Staff   |    SEARCH FACULTY & STAFF    |

PEPS Faculty


FACULTY INFORMATION
Wang, Koon-Hui

Associate Prof & Chair  


Email:  koonhui@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2455
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Arif, Mohammad

Asst Rsrch/Asst Prof  


Email:  arif@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7765
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Bloese, Joanna

Asst Spec  


Email:  bloese@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8225
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Cheng, Zhiqiang

Associate Specialist  


Email:  cheng241@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6416
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hamasaki, Randall T

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  rth@hawaii.edu
Phone:  887-7626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hu, John

Plant Pathologist  


Email:  johnhu@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7281
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Krushelnycky, Paul

Asst Rsrch  


Email:  pauldk@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8261
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Manandhar, Roshan

Assistant Extension Agent - Invasive Species  


Email:  roshanm@hawaii.edu
Phone:  274-3477
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Melzer, Michael J

Asst Rsrch  


Email:  melzer@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7887
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Mogren, Christina

Assistant Researcher  


Email:  cmogren@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6745
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rubinoff, Daniel

Professor  


Email:  rubinoff@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8432
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

San Jose, Michael

Jr Rsrch  


Email:  mdsjose@hawaii.edu
Phone:  946-2436
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Shikano, Ikkei

Assistant Professor  


Email:  ishikano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2000
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Shimabuku, Robin

Extension Agent  


Email:  shimabukur@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  244-3242 ext. 231
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sipes, Brent S

Professor Plant Pathology  


Email:  sipes@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7813
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sugano, Jari S

Extension Agent  


Email:  suganoj@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  622-4185
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tay, Jia-Wei

Asst Rsrch/ Asst Prof  


Email:  jwtay@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6744
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tian, Miaoying

Associate Researcher/Professor  


Email:  mtian@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-5305
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Valenzuela, Hector R

Specialist  


Email:  hector@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7903
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Wright, Mark G.

Prof of Entomology and Extension specialist  


Email:  markwrig@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7670
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Akahoshi, Kiersten

Jr Extn Agent  


Email:  Kiersten@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8229
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Dobhal, Shefali

Jr Rsrch  


Email:  shefali@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7027
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Doorenweerd, Camiel

PhD  


Email:  camiel.doorenweerd@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-9123
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Villalobos, Ethel M

Jr Rschr  


Email:  emv@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2445
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Alvarez, Anne M

Plant Pathologist, Emeritus  


Email:  alvarez@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7764
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Brennan, Barry M

Specialist Emeritus  


Email:  barryb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-0885
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Grace, J Kenneth

Researcher Emeritus  


Email:  kennethg@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hara, Arnold H

Entomologist  


Email:  arnold@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8214
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kawate, Michael K

Spec  


Email:  mkawate@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6008
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Ko, Wen-Hsiung

Plant Pathologist  


Email:  kowh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981--519
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Mau, Ronald F L

Emeritus  


Email:  maur@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7076
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nishijima, Wayne T

SPECIALIST EMERITUS  


Email:  waynen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981-5199
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sato, Dwight M

Emeritus  


Email:  dwights@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981-5199
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tamashiro, Minoru

Emeritus  


Email:  minoru@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6743
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Planting Basil at Waimanalo


The Opportunity Is Now 3 April 2020

The Opportunity Is Now

Promote agriculture with the International Year of Plant Health

As the world copes with the pandemic, it becomes more and more important for all of us to promote plant health, especially in Hawaiʻi and other geographically isolated Pacific Islands that currently import more than 80% of our food. Hawai'i is also home to almost 1,400 native plant species, 90% of which grow only here.

What Bit Him? 23 December 2019

What Bit Him?

PEPS expert weighs in on culprit in spider-bite reaction

Dan Rubinoff, in the Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences, was interviewed for KHON’s story about a local man bitten by an unknown spider. The bite caused tremendous pain, swelling, even tissue damage, and people want to know what caused it!

Getting Rid of the Pest 13 November 2019

Getting Rid of the Pest

Funding is needed to eradicate invasive longhorn beetle

There’s a new agricultural pest in town, and Dan Rubinoff (Dept. of Plants and Environmental Protection Sciences) is ready to start investigating it. He was interviewed by KITV about the Australian longhorn beetle, which is threatening citrus, sago palm, cacao, breadfruit, and kukui trees. A local chocolate company said their cacao yield has dropped 20 percent since the beetle has infested their trees. It also affects native trees such as ‘ōhi‘a and lama.

New Faces: Jia-Wei Tay 5 November 2019

New Faces: Jia-Wei Tay

Welcome to Jia-Wei Tay, a new assistant professor of urban entomology in PEPS! Her research is in the biology and management of invasive species, especially insect pests adapted to the urban environment. She hopes to figure out environmentally friendly alternatives to control target pest without impacting beneficial non-target organisms and the larger ecosystem.

Pumped for Pumpkins 5 November 2019

Pumped for Pumpkins

PEPS students show off their chops in carving contest

This Halloween, the Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences held its annual pumpkin-carving contest, to fearful and artistic effect! From the front of a VW bus to a surprisingly faithful depiction of the classic painting The Scream and an assortment of grotesque faces, PEPS teams and individuals showed just what can be done with a pumpkin. 

RSS
1234567