Faculty | Staff   |    SEARCH FACULTY & STAFF    |

PEPS Faculty


FACULTY INFORMATION
Wang, Koon-Hui

Associate Prof & Chair  


Email:  koonhui@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2455
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Arif, Mohammad

Asst Rsrch/Asst Prof  


Email:  arif@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7765
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Bloese, Joanna

Asst Spec  


Email:  bloese@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8225
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Cheng, Zhiqiang

Associate Specialist  


Email:  cheng241@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6416
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hamasaki, Randall T

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  rth@hawaii.edu
Phone:  887-7626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hu, John

Plant Pathologist  


Email:  johnhu@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7281
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Krushelnycky, Paul

Asst Rsrch  


Email:  pauldk@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8261
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Manandhar, Roshan

Assistant Extension Agent - Invasive Species  


Email:  roshanm@hawaii.edu
Phone:  274-3477
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Melzer, Michael J

Asst Rsrch  


Email:  melzer@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7887
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Mogren, Christina

Assistant Researcher  


Email:  cmogren@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6745
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rubinoff, Daniel

Professor  


Email:  rubinoff@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8432
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

San Jose, Michael

Jr Rsrch  


Email:  mdsjose@hawaii.edu
Phone:  946-2436
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Shikano, Ikkei

Assistant Professor  


Email:  ishikano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2000
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Shimabuku, Robin

Extension Agent  


Email:  shimabukur@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  244-3242 ext. 231
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sipes, Brent S

Professor Plant Pathology  


Email:  sipes@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7813
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sugano, Jari S

Extension Agent  


Email:  suganoj@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  622-4185
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tay, Jia-Wei

Asst Rsrch/ Asst Prof  


Email:  jwtay@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6744
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tian, Miaoying

Associate Researcher/Professor  


Email:  mtian@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-5305
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Valenzuela, Hector R

Specialist  


Email:  hector@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7903
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Wright, Mark G.

Prof of Entomology and Extension specialist  


Email:  markwrig@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7670
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Akahoshi, Kiersten

Jr Extn Agent  


Email:  Kiersten@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8229
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Dobhal, Shefali

Jr Rsrch  


Email:  shefali@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7027
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Doorenweerd, Camiel

PhD  


Email:  camiel.doorenweerd@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-9123
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Villalobos, Ethel M

Jr Rschr  


Email:  emv@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2445
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Alvarez, Anne M

Plant Pathologist, Emeritus  


Email:  alvarez@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7764
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Brennan, Barry M

Specialist Emeritus  


Email:  barryb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-0885
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Grace, J Kenneth

Researcher Emeritus  


Email:  kennethg@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hara, Arnold H

Entomologist  


Email:  arnold@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8214
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kawate, Michael K

Spec  


Email:  mkawate@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6008
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Ko, Wen-Hsiung

Plant Pathologist  


Email:  kowh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981--519
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Mau, Ronald F L

Emeritus  


Email:  maur@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7076
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nishijima, Wayne T

SPECIALIST EMERITUS  


Email:  waynen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981-5199
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sato, Dwight M

Emeritus  


Email:  dwights@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981-5199
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tamashiro, Minoru

Emeritus  


Email:  minoru@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6743
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Planting Basil at Waimanalo


7 May 2020

Decapitating Invaders!

PEPS professor weighs in on the murder hornet

Decapitating Invaders!

Entomologist and invasive species expert Dan Rubinoff was interviewed by KHON about the scary possibility that the highly aggressive “murder hornet” recently discovered in the Pacific Northwest will make its way to Hawai‘i…and what the effects will be if it does reach our shores.

Dan, a professor in the Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences, described the invasive insect: with a body that’s an inch and a half long and the ability to inject seven times the venom of a honeybee, it is extremely painful to humans it stings.

But far worse is the hornet’s effect on other insects, particularly honeybees. The Asian hornet cuts off the heads of bees and feeds the bodies to its young. Whole hives can be decimated. If murder hornets became established in Hawai‘i, it could critically impact the state’s agriculture. “It’s obviously really economically important for us, in terms of pollination services and honey,” Dan notes.

Potentially, murder hornets could enter our state through Christmas trees. Most trees shipped to Hawai‘i come from the Pacific Northwest, and underfunded agriculture inspectors can inspect only about 10 percent. It is very possible for a murder hornet to slip past the docks. Dan warns, “There’s a lot of trees. If they’re not shaken properly in Oregon, they may bring a murder hornet queen in. And that would be bad news.”

To lessen this possibility, Dan suggests buying a locally grown tree or a fake one. He concludes, “This isn’t a trivial insect to have in your neighborhood. It will make a difference.”

Print

Please login or register to post comments.