Faculty | Staff   |    SEARCH FACULTY & STAFF    |

PEPS Faculty


FACULTY INFORMATION
Wang, Koon-Hui

Associate Prof & Chair  


Email:  koonhui@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2455
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Arif, Mohammad

Asst Rsrch/Asst Prof  


Email:  arif@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7765
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Bloese, Joanna

Asst Spec  


Email:  bloese@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8225
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Cheng, Zhiqiang

Associate Specialist  


Email:  cheng241@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6416
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hamasaki, Randall T

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  rth@hawaii.edu
Phone:  887-7626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hu, John

Plant Pathologist  


Email:  johnhu@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7281
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Krushelnycky, Paul

Asst Rsrch  


Email:  pauldk@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8261
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Manandhar, Roshan

Assistant Extension Agent - Invasive Species  


Email:  roshanm@hawaii.edu
Phone:  274-3477
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Melzer, Michael J

Asst Rsrch  


Email:  melzer@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7887
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Mogren, Christina

Assistant Researcher  


Email:  cmogren@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6745
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rubinoff, Daniel

Professor  


Email:  rubinoff@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8432
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

San Jose, Michael

Jr Rsrch  


Email:  mdsjose@hawaii.edu
Phone:  946-2436
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Shikano, Ikkei

Assistant Professor  


Email:  ishikano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2000
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Shimabuku, Robin

Extension Agent  


Email:  shimabukur@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  244-3242 ext. 231
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sipes, Brent S

Professor Plant Pathology  


Email:  sipes@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7813
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sugano, Jari S

Extension Agent  


Email:  suganoj@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  622-4185
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tay, Jia-Wei

Asst Rsrch/ Asst Prof  


Email:  jwtay@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6744
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tian, Miaoying

Associate Researcher/Professor  


Email:  mtian@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-5305
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Valenzuela, Hector R

Specialist  


Email:  hector@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7903
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Wright, Mark G.

Prof of Entomology and Extension specialist  


Email:  markwrig@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7670
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Akahoshi, Kiersten

Jr Extn Agent  


Email:  Kiersten@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8229
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Dobhal, Shefali

Jr Rsrch  


Email:  shefali@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7027
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Doorenweerd, Camiel

PhD  


Email:  camiel.doorenweerd@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-9123
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Villalobos, Ethel M

Jr Rschr  


Email:  emv@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2445
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Alvarez, Anne M

Plant Pathologist, Emeritus  


Email:  alvarez@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7764
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Brennan, Barry M

Specialist Emeritus  


Email:  barryb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-0885
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Grace, J Kenneth

Researcher Emeritus  


Email:  kennethg@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Hara, Arnold H

Entomologist  


Email:  arnold@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8214
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kawate, Michael K

Spec  


Email:  mkawate@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6008
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Ko, Wen-Hsiung

Plant Pathologist  


Email:  kowh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981--519
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Mau, Ronald F L

Emeritus  


Email:  maur@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7076
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nishijima, Wayne T

SPECIALIST EMERITUS  


Email:  waynen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981-5199
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sato, Dwight M

Emeritus  


Email:  dwights@hawaii.edu
Phone:  981-5199
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tamashiro, Minoru

Emeritus  


Email:  minoru@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6743
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Planting Basil at Waimanalo


20 May 2020

Small, Cryptic, and Devastating

Recognize the pests that threaten your backyard garden

Small, Cryptic, and Devastating

Essentially, all crops we grow in Hawai‘i could be attacked by an insect or mite pest. They feed on the leaves, stems, roots, fruit—every part of the plant is fair game. Pests can reduce your garden’s yield significantly. In some cases, the entire crop can be lost to a plant disease transmitted by insects.

Of the most significant pests infesting our Islands, many are very small, and some barely resemble insects. So how does one go about fighting scale insects, mealybugs, whitefly, and thrips? It’s important to be able to recognize the pest, or the specific damage it causes, so you can take corrective action.

 

Mealybugs and Scale Insects

Mealybugs and scale insects are sap suckers that barely resemble insects, since they’re either covered by a protective shield or have a waxy covering. Most don’t have wings or even move. They suck fluids out of their food (plants), and excrete a sugary “honeydew” solution onto leaves. A black sooty mold grows on the honeydew, often the most noticeable sign of these insects. Another way to detect their presence is by looking for malformed leaves or stems.

Effective biological control agents are available in Hawai‘i for most species of scale insects and mealybugs. However, if something goes wrong – e.g., the beneficial insects are being killed by the insecticide – other pest-management options will be needed. Regular, manual sanitation (removing the infested parts by hand) does require time and energy, but it can be highly effective.

For widespread infestations of scale insects and similar pests, there are soap- and light oil-based insecticides such as Safer Soap®, PureSpray Green®, and Safe-T-Side®. (Please note: my mentioning any brand name or commercial product does not imply that UH/CTAHR endorses it). These products are less likely to impact creatures other than target pests, and should be safe to use. (Please follow all label directions when applying and storing the product, as well as disposing the empty container.)

 

Whitefly

Closely related to mealybugs, with similar biology—but as the name implies, the adults are winged and can fly. They feed on a wide array of crops and cause physical damage. Some also transmit pathogens like the Tomato Yellow Leaf Curl Virus.

Whitefly populations can become huge, producing large clouds of insects. Natural enemies usually keep their numbers under control, but if an outbreak occurs, you can buy pesticides similar to those used for scale insects and mealybugs. Or you can get tomato varieties that are resistant to the Yellow Leaf Curl Virus; some perform very well in Hawai‘i.

 

Thrips

These small (less than 2mm in length) and potentially devastating insects are almost transparent as juveniles; adults have feathery wings. Thrips feed on the underside of leaves and on flowers and young developing fruit. They feed by breaking open plant cells, which are never replaced as the leaf or fruit develops. Instead, a silvery feeding scar develops. Severe infestations can result in badly deformed fruits, twisted and malformed.

Thrips transmit the Tomato Spotted Wilt Virus, which similarly can be combatted by growing disease-resistant varieties of tomatoes, which are available in Hawai‘i. We’ve also found that reflective mulches (almost like aluminum foil), laid in strips over planting beds below plants during the seedling transplant process, can deter thrips and whitefly. This mulch also may protect plant varieties that are susceptible to viruses carried by these insects.

For more information on pest insects, please visit our Crop Knowledge Master website. It’s currently being updated, but it still has lots of useful information!

Mark G. Wright, Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences, UH College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources

Print

Please login or register to post comments.