Sunday, November 19, 2017
University of Hawaii at Manoa
University of Hawaii System
College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources
 
Make a Gift: UH Foundation

PEPS Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email
M. Arif, Ph.D. 
Assistant Researcher
Molecular host-bacterial interactions, bacterial genomics, population genetics
St. John 205 (808) 956-7765
arif@hawaii.edu 
Gordon M. Bennett IV, Ph.D.

Assistant Researcher

Insect symbiosis and vector biology

Lab website: https://www.ctahr.hawaii.edu/BennettG/

Gilmore Hall 512  (808) 956-2000
gmb4@hawaii.edu 

Wayne Borth, Ph.D. 

Assistant Researcher

Plant virology
St. John 310

 (808) 956-7317
 borth@hawaii.edu

Zhiqiang Cheng, Ph.D.

Assistant Specialist
Turfgrass and landscape pest management

Gilmore 609

 (808) 956 6416
cheng241@hawaii.edu
Raymond Curruthers, Ph.D.
Specialist
population ecology, integrated pest management, biological control 
Komohana Research and Extension Center, Hilo   (808) 969 8211
ramondi@hawaii.edu
Julian Dupuis, Ph.D.
Junior Researcher
evolutionary biology and speciation, insect systematics, population genetics and genomics
USDA Pacific Basin Agricultural Research Center, Hilo      jrdupuis@hawaii.edu   

Richard Ebesu, M.S.

Associate Extension Agent

General fruits and vegetables, home gardens, IPM

Kaua'i Extension Office

 (808) 274-3475

rebesu@hawaii.edu

Curtis Ewing, Ph.D.
Junior Researcher
Forest Entomology
 Komohana Research and Extension Center, Hilo cpe1@hawaii.edu   


Stephen A. Ferreira, Ph.D.

Associate Specialist

Crop protection, extension education

St. John 312

(808) 956-7854

stephenf@hawaii.edu

J. Kenneth Grace, Ph.D.
Associate Dean/Director for Research, CTAHR
Termite biology and control, insect behavior (currently unavailable as graduate adviser)

Gilmore 202B

(808) 956-8131

kennethg@hawaii.edu

Jason Graham, Ph.D.
Junior Researcher
pollinator management, native bee conservation, bee health and biodiversity
Gilmore 608

 
jrgraham@hawaii.edu   

Rosemary Gutierrez, Ph.D.

Junior Researcher

Macadamia felted coccid management

Komohana Research and Extension Center, Hilo

 (808) 981-5199

gr6@hawaii.edu

William Haines, Ph.D.

Junior Researcher

Lepidoptera systematics, insect conservation

Gilmore 608

(808) 956-9123
 whaines@hawaii.edu

Randall T. Hamasaki, M.S.

Extension Agent

Vegetables, Tea, and Blueberries

Kamuela Extension Office

 (808) 887-6183

rth@hawaii.edu

John Hu, Ph.D.

Researcher

Virology

St. John 310C

(808) 956-7281

johnhu@hawaii.edu

Michael K Kawate, Ph.D.

Specialist

Pesticide Registration, Efficacy, Residues, Application License (Cat. 10)

St. John 017

 (808) 956-6008

mike@hpirs.stjohn.hawaii.edu

Paul Krushelnycky, Ph.D.
Assistant Researcher

Invasive ant ecology and control, conservation biology, invasion biology

Gilmore 612A

 

(808) 956-8261

pauldk@hawaii.edu

Meng Mao, Ph.D. 
Junior Researcher
Insect-microbial symbiosis
 Gilmore 512 mengm@hawaii.edu   

Michael J. Melzer, Ph.D.

Assistant Researcher

Agrosecurity, virology

St. John 315

 (808) 956-7887

melzer@hawaii.edu

Russell H. Messing, Ph.D.
Kauai County Administrator
Fruit fly ecology and management, biological control

Kaua'i Agricultural Research Center

(808) 822-4984 ext. 223/227

messing@hawaii.edu

Ishakh Pulakkatu Thodi, Ph.D.
Junior Researcher
Coffee berry borer management, integrated pest management
Komohana Research and Extension Center, Hilo
(808) 969-8255
ishakhpt@hawaii.edu

Daniel Rubinoff, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, UH Insect Museum
Insect systematics, invasive species, conservation biology, evolution of ecological traits

Gimore 412A

 

(808) 956-8432

rubinoff@hawaii.edu

Kelvin T. Sewake, M.S.

Interim Assoc Dean/Director, Cooperative Extension

Gilmore 203B

(808) 956-8397

sewakek@ctahr.hawaii.edu

Robin S. Shimabuku, M.S.

Extension Agent

Kahului Extension Office

(808) 244-3242 ext. 231
shimabukur@ctahr.hawaii.edu

Brent S. Sipes, Ph.D.

Graduate Chair for Tropical Plant Pathology and Professor

Nematology, alternative control methods

St John 309A

(808) 956-7813
sipes@hawaii.edu

Helen Spafford, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Applied entomology; Insect behavior, ecology, and management; weed biological control

Applied Entomology Research Group Website

Gilmore 611A  

(808) 956-2452 

hspaffor@hawaii.edu

Jari Sugano, M.S.

Extension Agent
Fruit fly research and education, LIFE ed. program

Kaneohe Extension Office

(808) 247-0421

suganoj@ctahr.hawaii.edu

Miaoying Tian, Ph.D. 
Assistant Researcher

Plant host-pathogen molecular interactions

 St. John 317
(808) 956-5305

Janice Y. Uchida, Ph.D.

Associate Researcher

Fungal pathology, biological control of diseases, environmental impacts

St. John 304C

(808) 956-2827

juchida@hawaii.edu

Hector Valenzuela, Ph.D.

Specialist

Vegetable crops, agroecology

St. John 102

(808) 956-7903

hector@hawaii.edu

Ethel Villalobos, Ph.D.

Junior Researcher
Honeybee pest management, Honeybee Project

Gilmore 512

(808) 956-2445

emv@hawaii.edu

Koon-Hui Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Nematode ecology, nematode biological control, sustainable pest management

Gilmore 307

(808) 956-2455

koonhui@hawaii.edu

Shizu Watanabe, Ph.D. 
Junior Researcher 
Agrosecurity
St. John 315  shizuw@hawaii.edu

Mark G. Wright, Ph.D.
Graduate Chair for Entomology and Specialist
Associate, UH Insect Museum
Integrated pest management, tropical fruits and nuts, insect ecology, biological control

Gilmore 511A

(808) 956-7670 

markwrig@hawaii.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email
Anne M. Alvarez, Ph.D.

Researcher Emerita

Plant- and environmental bacteriology

St. John 303     (808) 956 7764
alvarez@hawaii.edu
Barry M. Brennan, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Agrosecurity, Pesticide safety training

St. John 002
 

 (808) 956-0885

barryb@hawaii.edu

 
John Cho, Ph.D. 
Researcher Emeritus
Taro and vegetable crop plant pathology
Maui Agricultural Research Center - Kula Research Station  john_cho@yahoo.com
M. Lee Goff, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Forensic entomology, mite taxonomy 
Gilmore 611 lgoff@chaminade.edu   
Arnold H. Hara, Ph.D.

Researcher Emeritus

Horticultural entomology, post-harvest insect control, regulatory entomology

Komohana Research and Extension Center, Hilo 

(808) 969-8214

arnold@hawaii.edu

 

Ronald L. Mau, Ph.D.

Specialist Emeritus

IPM in vegetable crops; Management of tephritid fruit fly pests, insecticide resistance

Gilmore 605
 

 (808) 956-7076

maur@ctahr.hawaii.edu

 

Minoru Tamashiro, Ph.D.
Researcher Emeritus 

Insect pathology; urban entomology

Gilmore 601A

(808) 956-6743

minoru@hawaii.edu

Eduardo E. Trujillo, Ph.D.
Researcher Emeritus 

Plant Pathology


trujillo@hawaii.edu

Julian R. Yates III, Ph.D.

Specialist Emeritus

Urban pest management, termite biology and control

 Gilmore 607A

(808) 956-6747 

yates@hawaii.edu


E komo mai | Welcome   |   Directory   |   Research   |   Academics   |   Extension & Outreach
The University of Hawai‘i is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.