Sunday, November 19, 2017
University of Hawaii at Manoa
University of Hawaii System
College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources
 

Graduate Faculty: Entomology

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Gordon Bennett IV

Assistant Researcher

Insect vectored plant pathogens; insect endosymbionts.

 

 

Zhiqiang Cheng, Ph.D.
Assistant Specialist
Turfgrass and urban landscape pest management
Gilmore 609  cheng241@hawaii.edu
 

J. Kenneth Grace, Ph.D.
Associate Dean / Director for Research, CTAHR
Termite biology and control, insect behavior (currently unavailable as adviser)

Gilmore 601L

(808) 956-8131

kennethg@hawaii.edu

William Haines, Ph.D.
Junior Researcher
Insect ecology, conservation, evolution
 Gilmore 6 whaines@hawaii.edu 

Paul Krushelnycky, Ph.D.

Assistant Researcher
Invasive ant ecology and control, conservation biology, invasion biology

Gilmore 612A

 

(808) 956-8261

pauldk@hawaii.edu

Russell H. Messing, Ph.D.

Researcher
Fruit fly ecology and management, biological control

Kaua'i Agricultural Research Center

 

(808) 822-4984 ext. 223/227

messing@hawaii.edu

Daniel Rubinoff, Ph.D.
Director, UH Insect Museum and Professsor

Insect systematics, invasive species, conservation biology, evolution of ecological traits

Gimore 412A

(808) 956-8432

rubinoff@hawaii.edu

Helen Spafford, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Conservation of biological control agents, IPM in horticultural systems, ecology and establishment of weed biological control agents

Gilmore 611A

 

(808) 956-2452

hspaffor@hawaii.edu

Ethel Villalobos, Ph.D.

Junior Researcher
Honeybee pest management

Gilmore 512

(808) 956-2445

emv@hawaii.edu

Mark G. Wright, Ph.D.
Graduate Chair for Entomology and Specialist
Associate, UH Insect Museum
Integrated pest management, tropical fruits and nuts, insect ecology, biological control

Gilmore 511A

 

 

(808) 956-7670

markwrig@hawaii.edu

 

Cooperating Graduate Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Lorna Arita-Tsutsumi, Ph.D.
Insect behavior, honeybee ecology

Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation Biology

UH - Hilo

(808) 974-7719
tsutsumi@hawaii.edu

Kenneth Hayes, Ph.D. 
Assistant Researcher 
Evolution and conservation biology
Pacific Biosciences Research Center  khayes@hawaii.edu   
Brendan Holland, Ph.D.
Associate Researcher
Evolution and conservation biology
Pacific Biosciences Research Center  bholland@hawaii.edu   

Kenneth Y. Kaneshiro, Ph.D.
Researcher

Associate of the UH Insect Museum
Evolutionary biology

Pacific Biosciences Research Center

(808) 956-6739
kykanesh@hawaii.edu

Matthew Medeiros, Ph.D. 
Mosquito ecology, conservation biology
Pacific Biosciences Research Center 

(808) 956 8187

mcmedeir@hawaii.edu

 

Affiliate Graduate Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Neal Evenhuis, Ph.D.
Systematics of Diptera

Bishop Museum

(808) 848-4138
neale@bishopmuseum.org

Peter A. Follett, Ph.D.
Commodity quarantine treatments, tropical tree fruit IPM

USDA-ARS-PBARC, Hilo

(808) 959-4303
peter.follett@ars.usda.gov

Scott M. Geib, Ph.D.

Insect genomics

USDA-ARS-PBARC, Hilo

(808) 959-4335
scott.geib@ars.usda.gov

Leyla Kaufman, Ph.D.
integrated pest management, biological control, risk assessment
Hawaii Invasive Species Council leyla@hawaii.edu
Nic Liquido, Ph.D. 
Fruit flies, regulatory entomology
USDA APHIS

 

Roger I. Vargas, Ph.D.

Ecology, mass-rearing techniques

USDA-ARS-PBARC, Hilo

(808) 959-4329
roger.vargas@ars.usda.gov

Adam E. Vorsino, Ph.D.
GIS modeling 
US-FWS, Honolulu  adam_vorsino@fws.gov 
Manage

PEPS Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Anne M. Alvarez, Ph.D.

Plant and environmental bacteriology

St. John 315A

 (808) 956-7764
 alvarez@hawaii.edu

Wayne Borth, Ph.D. 

Plant virology
St. John 310

 (808) 956-7317
 borth@hawaii.edu

Insect vectors of plant pathogens, insect-microbe interactions

 

Vacant
Zhiqiang Cheng, Ph.D.
Turfgrass and urban landscape pest management
Manage

PEPS Faculty

Name
Office
Phone / Email

Anne M. Alvarez, Ph.D.

Plant and environmental bacteriology

St. John 315A

 (808) 956-7764
 alvarez@hawaii.edu

Wayne Borth, Ph.D. 

Plant virology
St. John 310

 (808) 956-7317
 borth@hawaii.edu

Insect vectors of plant pathogens, insect-microbe interactions

 

Vacant
Zhiqiang Cheng, Ph.D.
Turfgrass and urban landscape pest management
E komo mai | Welcome   |   Directory   |   Research   |   Academics   |   Extension & Outreach
The University of Hawai‘i is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.