FACULTY INFORMATION
Carlson, Kimberly

Assistant Professor  


Email:  kimberly.carlson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2617
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Chan, Catherine

Professor  


Email:  chanhalb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Cox, Linda J

Community Economic Development Specialist  


Email:  lcox@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7602
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Crow, Susan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  crows@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8149
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

El-Swaify, Samir A

Emeritus Professor  


Email:  elswaify@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Evensen, Carl I

Specialist  


Email:  evensen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8825
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Friday, James B

Extension Forester  


Email:  jbfriday@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8254
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Garrod, Peter

Researcher  


Email:  garrod@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8128
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Gopalakrishnan, Chennat

Emeritus  


Email:  chennat@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7497
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Idol, Travis

Associate Professor & Chair  


Email:  idol@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7508
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kaneshiro-Pineiro, Mahealani

Acad Supp  


Email:  mykanesh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Leung, PingSun

Professor  


Email:  psleung@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8562
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Litton, Creighton

Professor  


Email:  litton@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6004
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Miura, Tomoaki

Professor  


Email:  tomoakim@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7333
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nagano, Steven Y

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  snagano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  453-6054
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Oleson, Kirsten

Associate Professor  


Email:  koleson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8864
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Price, Melissa

Assistant Professor  


Email:  pricemel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7774
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rehkamp, Sarah

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srehkamp@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8221
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sand, Shannon

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srsand@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8217
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Trauernicht, Parker Clayton (Clay)

Assistant Specialist  


Email:  trauerni@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6875
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tsang, YinPhan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  tsangy@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6361
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Vaughan, Mehana

Assistant Professor  


Email:  mehana@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8901
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Youkhana, Adel

Junior Researcher  


Email:  adel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2620
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Class standing in field


New Faces: Sarah Rehkamp 5 April 2019

New Faces: Sarah Rehkamp

Sustainability in agriculture isn’t just about using practices that don’t harm the environment, crucial though that is; another important aspect is being able to make enough money to keep producing. That’s a big part of what agricultural economics focuses on, and CTAHR will be better equipped to help farmers with this now that Sarah Rehkamp (NREM) will soon be starting as the new assistant Extension agent in Ag Economics.

Their Research Is Taking Off 5 April 2019

Their Research Is Taking Off

Up, up, and away! Want to know more about growing jet fuel from plants? Junior researcher Adel Youkhana (NREM), Richard Ogoshi (TPSS, retired), and their co-authors recently published a new paper in Energy & Fuel Journal, “Review of Biomass Resources and Conversion Technologies for Alternative Jet Fuel Production in Hawai’i and Tropical Regions.”

Man on Fire 22 February 2019

Man on Fire

Wildfires are a serious concern, in the Islands as well as on the Mainland. Wildland fire expert Clay Trauernicht (NREM) recently gave a presentation on this timely subject on Maui, in which he explained that since 72 percent of wildfires with known causes are accidental, that means they can be prevented, and the time for prevention is now!  

New Faces: Shannon Sand 31 January 2019

New Faces: Shannon Sand

Shannon Sand (NREM) will be the new assistant Extension agent in Agricultural Finance. Based out of the Komohana Agriculture Research & Extension Center in Hilo, she will have state-wide responsibilities. Shannon has earned master’s degrees in Agriculture, Agricultural Economics, and Food and Resource Economics. Please welcome her when she starts work in June!

Sugarcane and Sustainability 24 January 2019

Sugarcane and Sustainability

A new study, co-authored by NREM’s Kimberly Carlson, suggests that only one third of global sugarcane production complies with Bonsucro, the leading sustainability standard for sugarcane. “Voluntary Sustainability Standards Could Significantly Reduce Detrimental Impacts of Global Agriculture” was recently published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA.

RSS
12345678