FACULTY INFORMATION
Carlson, Kimberly

Assistant Professor  


Email:  kimberly.carlson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2617
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Chan, Catherine

Professor  


Email:  chanhalb@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2626
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Cox, Linda J

Community Economic Development Specialist  


Email:  lcox@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7602
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Crow, Susan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  crows@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8149
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

El-Swaify, Samir A

Emeritus Professor  


Email:  elswaify@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Evensen, Carl I

Specialist  


Email:  evensen@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8825
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Friday, James B

Extension Forester  


Email:  jbfriday@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8254
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Garrod, Peter

Researcher  


Email:  garrod@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8128
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Gopalakrishnan, Chennat

Emeritus  


Email:  chennat@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7497
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Idol, Travis

Associate Professor & Chair  


Email:  idol@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7508
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Kaneshiro-Pineiro, Mahealani

Acad Supp  


Email:  mykanesh@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6343
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Leung, PingSun

Professor  


Email:  psleung@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8562
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Litton, Creighton

Professor  


Email:  litton@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6004
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Miura, Tomoaki

Professor  


Email:  tomoakim@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7333
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Nagano, Steven Y

Co Extn Agent  


Email:  snagano@hawaii.edu
Phone:  453-6054
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Oleson, Kirsten

Associate Professor  


Email:  koleson@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8864
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Price, Melissa

Assistant Professor  


Email:  pricemel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-7774
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Rehkamp, Sarah

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srehkamp@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8221
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Sand, Shannon

Asst Extn Agent  


Email:  srsand@hawaii.edu
Phone:  969-8217
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Trauernicht, Parker Clayton (Clay)

Assistant Specialist  


Email:  trauerni@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6875
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Tsang, YinPhan

Assistant Professor  


Email:  tsangy@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-6361
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Vaughan, Mehana

Assistant Professor  


Email:  mehana@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-8901
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Youkhana, Adel

Junior Researcher  


Email:  adel@hawaii.edu
Phone:  956-2620
Special Skills and Knowledge:  


more...

Class standing in field


New Faces: Mahealani Kaneshiro 4 September 2019

New Faces: Mahealani Kaneshiro

Welcome to Mahealani Kaneshiro—UH alumna, kanaka maoli, and uchinanchu (local descendent of Okinawan immigrants)—who is a new instructor in the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management (NREM). Mahealani has a wide range of experience in college-level instruction and outreach Extension. She will be responsible for many of the required NREM undergraduate courses, including internships, and plans to teach elective and graduate-level courses as well. 

Conservation Innovation 6 August 2019

Conservation Innovation

ROD squad recognized at Hawai‘i conservation conference

The Rapid ‘Ōhi‘a Death Working Group—also known as the ROD Squad—was formed to respond to the new disease threatening Hawai‘i’s most important native forest tree. With nearly 200 individuals representing state, county, federal, university, and non-profit organizations; local and private businesses; and private citizens, the group facilitates inclusive communication on all issues related to the fungal disease and shares knowledge on a regular basis among group members, their organizations, and the people of Hawai‘i.

Islands in Flames 6 August 2019

Islands in Flames

Wildfire educator sounds a warning

Wildland fire expert and 2019 winner of the Excellence in Extension award Clay Trauernicht (NREM) was recently interviewed by Noe Tanigawa on Hawai‘i Public Radio’s Planet 808 show about the increasing danger of wildfire in the Islands and its connection with climate change.

Awed by the ROD Squad! 9 July 2019

Awed by the ROD Squad!

Rapid ‘Ōhi‘a Death documentary features J.B. Friday

UH plays a vital role in researching and raising awareness of Rapid ‘Ōhi‘a Death (ROD), a disease that is killing off the native and iconic ‘ōhi‘a lehua tree. CTAHR and other UH scientists are working with state and federal agencies and non-governmental organizations to learn about this disease and to assess what can be done to protect ‘ōhi‘a for future generations.

ROD Roundtable 12 April 2019

ROD Roundtable

JB Friday (NREM) joined Marian Chau of the Lyon Arboretum, Lisa Keith of USDA ARS, and Kumu Kehaulani Kekua of Kaua‘i for in-depth interviews about Rapid ‘Ohi‘a Death on the PBS program Insights. The experts explained the recently discovered pathogens that cause it and how it is spread by burrowing ambrosia beetles that create fungus-imbued sawdust, which floats over forest canopies and infects other trees.

RSS
12345678